New Year’s Theme

30 Dec

happy new year

2013 is almost GONE!  As much as I don’t want to get any older…I really can’t wait to see what 2014 will bring! (Remember when everyone thought the world was going to end in 2012? oh, and don’t forget Y2K!)

I have to admit, I don’t like New Years Resolutions. Basically because they don’t last with me, maybe it’s because I choose something unattainable, like, “I’m never going to eat chocolate again!” and that’s just silly… and wrong! 🙂

However, I heard about someone starting a New Year Theme instead of a resolution. I like the idea of choosing a theme to focus on through the year. This makes sense.

So I got to thinking about a personal theme for this year…One that would trickle over to every aspect of my life – faith, fitness, family, and finances.

Wait for it…drum roll please….I am going to use STRENGTH for my theme. Shocking, I know.  It may seem cliche since I’m obsessed with CrossFit, but it really does have value in all aspects of my life.

Theme Verse: Philippians 4:13

philippians

Strength comes in many forms:

 Relationships – creating deeper bonds, and forming healthy boundaries.

 Financial life – making wise financial choices.

Fitness – eating for health and performance (not comfort). Pushing past comfortable and breaking past limitations.

Faith –  realizing that strength comes from trusting God, and in order to do that we first have to pray and get to know who God is (daily devotions).

Becoming a strong person does not mean having it all together all the time. It does mean that you fight to become who you are meant to be. Human nature is complacent, lazy, and weak. Being strong means fighting against the voice inside you that tells you to give up. It’s combating against negativity and anxiety. It’s also knowing when to rely on others, and when to be reliable.

strength

So that’s my theme for this year. It will be a journey for sure. But I’m excited to see where it will take me. I’m choosing to NOT be safe, or comfortable. I’m choosing the road less traveled…and I hope that will make all the difference 🙂

What about you? What theme will you/would you choose?

Leave a Reply

