Love and Fitness

27 Dec

picture life

Let me first start this post by saying that I am a normal, average person. I am not an expert in the area of nutrition and fitness, or spirituality. HOWEVER, I feel that I have experienced a lot in my own pursuit of happiness. I have found that there is a deep connection between emotional, physical, and spiritual health.

I have done it all in terms of fitness fads….calorie counting, vegan, Raw Food Revolution, cleanses – juicing, Shakes (Vi Salis, Herbalife, Shakeology) and it’s not like I gave these things a “College Try”, I mean, I was dedicated. But none of it seemed to be sustainable. I was running 6 – 10 miles / day in conjunction to restrictive eating…The Results: A grumpy, self indulgent woman…who thought she knew everything.

Reality: I literally felt like I was breaking myself down. Don’t get me wrong, These things are not bad. I STILL LOVE running, BUT, it was my approach that was off. I was too focused on the end result, and not the process. I went after everything with 100% tenacity and…obsession. My “disciplines” were turning me into a selfish, calloused – and bitter, woman.

I needed a reality check, BAD.

priority check

1 Corinthians 13  

1 Corinthians 13 is probably one of the most well known bible verses. It is the verse read at almost every wedding – Love is patient, love is kind… But it doesn’t only pertain to weddings. God’s greatest command is to LOVE. To love God, others, and ourselves (in that order). It is not our human nature to love, it is divine to love. This is why – Love is NOT  a feeling. It is a choice (what does this have to do with fitness? hold on, I’ll get there!)

Love is not a chemical reaction, it is a discipline. Sure, in the beginning of a relationship you have biochemistry with someone, attraction, infatuation and so on. But if you base a relationship on those feelings, it is sure to fail (been there too…) Why? Ever hear someone say, “sometimes love is not enough.” ? What they REALLY are referring to is attraction and infatuation…because love is always enough…if you truly know what it is…

And here are God’s words (the creator of life and LOVE):

Love is patient,

love is kind.

It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

It does not dishonor others,

it is not self-seeking,

it is not easily angered,

it keeps no record of wrongs.

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

It always protects, always trusts, always hopes,

always perseveres.

This is the recipe of a happy life. It is not easy. None of the above are easy…that’s why relationships fail – we focus on how other people make us feel and think that’s LOVE. But Love means focusing on others instead of ourselves.

Ok, so about fitness. We have to love ourselves too. Which takes discipline. We need to focus on the journey, now our end goals.

How to Love Fitness CrossFit:

Be patient – change isn’t going to happen over night!

Be Kind – Don’t self depreciate! Don’t “hate” your body! It does so much for you!

Do not envy – Don’t compare yourself to others…Including unrealistic images on glossy pages!

Do not Boast, Do not be Proud – Yes! Don’t be that person who clanks weights, or brags…don’t be a lunk!

Do not dishonor others- Build others UP! Don’t judge others on their personal journey. life is hard enough.

Not Self- seeking – Think of others, let them get the “better bar”, help them get their weights organized, give them the better spot for leg swing series or couch stretch 🙂 … (some of these are CrossFit specific)

Not Easily Angered- Don’t sweat the small stuff.

No Records of Wrongs – Don’t focus on your friends improper form, when you yourself are not breaking parallel….

Truth – Don’t cheat.

Protect – Have each others backs.

Trust – The coaches and the process.

Hope – Never lose hope! Rome wasn’t built in a day…pull ups won’t be mastered in a day year…

Persevere- Never. Give. Up.

 

 

crossfit inspiration

 

One Response to “Love and Fitness”

  1. Barb Draft December 29, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    My Dear the purpose, intent and study you continue is based on Love. I understand and think of life in a similar way. It is interesting the subject of our earthly bodies and our thoughts and emotions concerning our perception. Thank you for your thoughts and lessons. The Bible verses are so relevant for me. My physical health, what do I say? I am getting more and more compromised. Fighting it doesn’t get me anywhere. Accepting the limits are still difficult. That’s why I appreciate what you share and talking with Stephanie every week. I still have problems taking certain meds. The (fatigue) is endless. Pain always and no control. Make no plans for going somewhere. My friends and family understand. That includes my love for you and Ryan. Please continue to share. I’m on the schools email list. I like that. Ashley as you know it is a life of study, witness and sometimes heartfelt pain. You know what resources help you and that is key. I love you and I am so happy your first position was chosen for you and you realized it. Stay safe and please tell Ryan how much I love both of you. I don’t do text so it’s the phone. me

Leave a Reply

