Body Image

4 Dec

Whenever there is talk about health and fitness, there is always an elephant in the room…Body image.

And Body Image tends to lead to thoughts of self worth…

https://i1.wp.com/cherierunsthis.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/elephant-in-the-room.jpg

I get it, talking about insecurities is not fun. But we’ve all been there, and continue to go there from time to time.

The question is, what do you do when those thoughts of self doubt start to invade your mind?In today’s culture, we are bombarded with thousands of images a day. Images of airbrushed, hungry (or as I like to say hangry: hungry + angry) models, which lead to unrealistic and unhealthy expectations.

The Truth is, “You are fearfully and wonderfully made.” Psalm 139:14.

Beauty comes in all shapes and sizes, all ethnicities, genders, cultures, etc. The definition if beauty is open ended.

You’ve heard the cliche, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” But it’s true. Everyone has their own perception of what beauty is. My definition of beauty would be, “The intangible aspects of your character : confidence, integrity,  strength, and compassion.”

When you look outward for your body image and self worth, you are sure to find disappointment and self loathing. I know, I’ve been there. Not going to lie…sometimes I find my thoughts gravitating that way from time to time.  However, the older I become, the more I realize that I really don’t like feeling bad/sorry for myself.

So what do I do? I’ve really learned that when I feel insecure, it’s usually a lie I’ve let myself believe. First off, if it’s from comparing myself to others, I know, deep down, that I should be happy for them, and count my own blessings. God laid it out for us in the 10 commandments “Don’t Covet”…that means our bodies too. We can look up to someone and admire them, but the moment it crosses the line to comparing and you start feeling sorry for yourself, then it’s coveting and unhealthy.

1.I’ve learned to thank God for the blessings He’s given me. And if there is something I don’t like about myself, I’ve learned to give it to God, and focus on things I can control – like diet and exercise. Andrea Ager said “Focus on nourishing your Body, and exercising, and the results will take care of themselves.” Paul Burkert from CrossFit Lake Effect gave me wise advice once (I’ll give it to you this ONCE) “Control what you can, and don’t worry about what you can’t. No point getting upset over things that are out of your control.”

2.Also, God tells us to treat our bodies as a living sacrifice to Him…. so take care of your body, it is a blessing. BUT, don’t idolize your body. We are not merely physical beings. We are souls. And in the end, our bodies will return to dust, but our souls will remain. Don’t obsess more about your body than you do about how you treat people.

3. Focus on others. Avoiding a party because you feel sorry for yourself is just silly! (I know, I’ve been there). You will not remember the days you spend sitting on the couch in years to come and say…”Oh yea, I remember sitting all alone, feeling sorry for myself…good times.” NOPE! You’ll remember the relationships you’ve made and things you’ve gone out and done.  Keep things in perspective. Even if you are insecure about something…other people rarely ever see the same flaws you see. And if they do…they don’t matter. To quote Dr. Seuss…”Those who matter don’t care, and those who care, don’t matter.”

4. Move your body. Exercise is the BEST antidepressant…and it’s FREE! For me, CrossFit has totally revolutionized the way I see my body. I no longer look at my dress size or the scale — I actually don’t weigh myself or own a scale at all. I view my body as a blessing – I am capable of so much more than I ever could have imagined, and CrossFit has really opened my eyes to my full potential. I have a lot of progress to make, but I have come a long way already. It carries over to all aspects of life…Whether you think you can, or think you can’t, you’re right. It’s all about having faith. Faith that life will work out for you. Faith in God, that He loves you and will provide for you, and Faith in success. Even if you get knocked down…Get back up, and have faith that you can move mountains.

Truth is: You are Beautiful…All women, all shapes, all sizes, are beautiful.

Here is a website that I LOVE that really promotes awareness of all body types.https://www.facebook.com/CFStrongWomen

 

In Closing, I want to share with you a video of Female CrossFit Athletes…You’d think they’d never be insecure, but even the people we think are “perfect” have insecurities. It’s how they’ve learned to understand body image that is interesting to me.

Sorry if this seemed like  a huge tangent. I just have a LOT of thoughts on this subject. What ABOUT YOU?? What do you do when the doubt monster starts to seep in? Where do you find your strength?

One Response to “Body Image”

  1. Barb Draft December 5, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Hi, just what I needed today. I am doing the best that I can, but I don’t like it. I try not to compare, but that is difficult as you know. It never occurred to me I would end up like this. Thank you for your insight. Ashley I hope you know the people and children you touch. I love you, ” and peace be with you”. Every day I challenge my thought process. I am amazed every morning when I get up. I just had a thought. Learning that’s the way my body is, but at least I can try to fight it. I just read that it doesn’t work. I want to accept the pain, try to manage it the best I can. But my body and my racing thoughts will continue to challenge me. I will end this because I don’t like the subject matter. Thank you for sharing. Heads up for me when you write, thanks.

Leave a Reply

