Fighting Fear by Finding Faith and Fitness

24 Jul

“The Only Thing You Have To Fear Is Fear Itself” -Churchill

Of one thing I am certain, you will face challenges everyday.

How you respond to life’s challenges is what defines your character.

Romans 5

I’ve faced a lot of challenges in my life {who hasn’t?}, but when I compare it how blessed I’ve been, the challenges seem so abysmal, that I’m ashamed to have focused on the negative and pitied myself. It’s all a matter of perception. We can get stuck easily on what has hurt us that we let the past hinder our future, when in fact your past does not determine your future; it’s made you who you are, but it shouldn’t define you.

Don’t let your past steal from your future, instead enjoy the present. And BE present. How many of us are constantly rushing around, thinking of the next thing we have to do? No wonder so many of us struggle with anxiety. One thing that I am practicing is being PRESENT. No matter what I’m doing. Even the things I don’t always enjoy. We are not promised tomorrow. Who are we to number our days? Don’t live like a zombie, eking out your days. Live with intention everyday. Not just on the weekends. LIVE. Don’t just survive. There is always something positive to focus on, even on your hardest days.

I enjoy history, and so I thought I’d share my favorite Abraham Lincoln quotes with you. They always inspire me and help me to refocus my priorities.

abe

The first one reminds me of CrossFit, but it applies to all aspects of life. Failure in itself is not bad – it’s proof that we’re trying. I pity the person who hides themselves away, avoiding life because they’re scared to make mistakes. I make mistakes all the time, and I’m proud of it because I’m learning from them. As I tell my students,  “it’s O.K. to not know but it’s NOT O.K. not to try.”

CrossFit makes me feel like I’m going to throw up everyday…that nervous feeling…like your first time on a roller coaster, or a first date. And I. LOVE. IT. when’s the last time you’ve really challenged yourself? Tried something hard? You won’t die from being uncomfortable. I was so scared to be a teacher too. not knowing if I had what it takes. I still rely fully on God and His grace in order to be the teacher my students deserve. But I fight for it everyday. The day I stop fighting will be my last. This life is a battle. Push back the dark, because you never know who needs to see your light.

Let’s Talk Faith {I do not push my beliefs on anyone, but I speak candidly about my faith because It is a huge part of who I am.}

When you recognize that control is a fallacy, you can begin to walk in faith. I have no control over my life. I’ve given it all to God. This doesn’t mean I’m irresponsible, rather, I take each day as it comes, and each opportunity as a blessing. I am so thankful that I DON’T control my life, but rather that I live by faith. I’m sure if God let me plan my life, I’d be miserable. I’m so grateful that God is in control and not me. When I watch everything fall together, so effortlessly, I know that God is behind it, working small and large miracles that I am unaware of. Never give up. Never stop praying- You have no idea what God is working out because of your prayers..even when you can’t see it…especially when you can’t see it.

no fear

Your Turn

What or who pushes you? 

What have you avoided doing because of fear? What can you do about it?

Leave a Reply

