Health Sense

16 Jul

Health is NOT a “Diet”

eat-better

Photo Credit HERE

If I had a dime for every time someone said to me, “Oh, you’re eating that? Are you on a diet”, I’d be rich.

But healthy eating is not a fad diet that you do for a few weeks or months, lose weight, and then return to eating whatever you want. You wouldn’t mop your floors just to pour a bucket of dirt all over it, would you? Most research will show that people who go on restrictive diets, usually gain all their weight back…and then some. I use to think that eating foods that had the labels “Heart Healthy”, or “Reduces Cholesterol”, and even, “Whole Grains that Help you Lose Weight” meant that I was eating healthy. But I was miserable. I was eating all the right “diet foods”, granola, whole wheat, yogurt, lunch meat…and I felt awful…

Think you eat “healthy”? You might be surprised. Ask yourself the following:

1. How are my energy levels? {Do you drink more than 2 cups of Joe a day?}

2. Do I feel strong cravings for particular foods, and am grouchy if I don’t get it? {This could be a food addiction}.

3. How is my skin? Acne issues? Dry?

4. Are my hair and nails strong and health? or dry, cracked or split?

5. How’s my digestive health?

Answer these questions truthfully.

How do you feel about your current nutrition? Are you getting the most out of your food?

I am not a doctor, or nutritionist, but I have dealt with IBS for the past 10 years, and through my journey, I’ve discovered one fundamental truth. EAT REAL FOOD. Food in its closest form. Food not genetically modified, or over processed. Since I’ve been eating clean, and loosely following the Paleo Diet, I have literally not had one IBS flare up. My hair and nails are stronger, I have so much more energy, and my food cravings are gone. Sound too good to be true? Well, I’m not trying to sell you anything. I’m just telling you how it is. Stop. Eating. Junk. 

Foods I Avoid:

  • Processed Grains- Breads, Pastas, Crackers {The only bread I can eat is Ezekiel Bread}
  • Dairy – Milk, Cheese, Butter
  • Starchy Foods –  Potatoes
  • Sugar, fake sugar – splenda, agave, crystal stevia
  • Coffee {Causes inflammation}
  • Low Grade Meat/ Lunch Meat {too processed, too many hormones, too much sodium}
  • Oils such as: vegetable oil, hydrogenated oils, even olive oil I limit, any oil that is not coconut oil I avoid.

I know this list doesn’t seem too terribly long. But if you read ingredients when you grocery shop, you’ll realize that it limits how much processed food you really can buy.

Foods I Eat:

  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Lean, grassfed Meat {Beef, Chicken, Pork}
  • Eggs
  • Nuts
  • Nut Butters
  • PB2 powdered peanut butter…NOT paleo, but it’s my favorite.
  • Whey Isolate Protein Powder
  • Flax and Chia
  • Almond meal, Coconut Flour
  • Coconut oil
  • Ezekiel Bread
  • Quest Bars
  • Powdered Organic Stevia

paleo pyramid

If you notice, there are actually more foods I can eat, then I can’t. You just have to get creative. I personally love experimenting with raw, whole, nutritious ingredients. But more than that, I love feeling great. Not being dependent on how I “feel” for my day to go well…because I always feel great when I workout and eat right.

So, here’s a good way to think about it; If a food label has ingredients you don’t understand, don’t eat it {or google it, but that can sometimes be scary}.

I eat more than I ever have, and am leaner than I ever have been. Why? because I don’t eat junk. Now, I would never judge someone based on their eating or dieting habits, it’s a personal choice. I’m not trying to force my lifestyle on you, but I just want you to know, that if you feel that you are missing something nutritionally, you probably are. The Standard American Diet is built on marketing principles, not health.

Faith in my Food?

The Bible is the Blueprint for our lives. So it makes sense that it covers nutrition too.

Genesis 1:29 “And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food.”

Ezekiel 4:29 “And you, take wheat and barley, beans and lentils, millet and emmer, and put them into a single vessel and make your bread from them. During the number of days that you lie on your side, 390 days, you shall eat it.”

Proverbs 30:8-9 “Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.”

Although I do follow the principles of Clean Eating and Paleo, I do not hold myself to the strict standards to the point to eliminated certain things that I really love. I do let myself eat some things every so often…like PEANUT BUTTER. {God Bless George Washington Carver for discovering Peanut Butter!}, My point is that food was created for you, you are not to be a slave to food, and it is not to become your religion.

I posted the 10 fitness commandments earlier in my blog, and one of the best rules was this:

“Do not give more thought to your food than your faith.”

I think that is so true. It’s easy to get consumed with diets and fads, so much so that we focus more on what we are putting into our mouths, and not how we are living and caring for others.

So my simple advice is to EAT REAL FOOD, and give thanks to God for the health and vitality it will bring you.

Here are some really easy Paleo inspired recipes for you to try:

crockpot steak

clean eating

2013-06-28 20.24.15

Clean Stir Fry: Feeds about 3

Cook Time: about 15 minutes

1 lb Grassfed Beef

2 Cups Broccoli {I did steam it before adding it, in a shallow bowl with a little water and a paper towel over the top for 3 minutes}

1/4 Cup Almonds

1 Cup Wild Rice

1 tbs Slap Ya Mama Seasoning {or other low salt, sodium, MSG free, organic Beef Seasoning}

Instructions: Brown meat, add the other ingredients, and sauté.

Your Turn

Do you “diet”or do you eat healthy?

How does your nutrition impact your daily life?

2 Responses to “Health Sense”

  1. shaneatkinson82 July 17, 2013 at 3:13 am #

    Great post. I never thought about it until now but it does seem that if you choose to be healthy you’re dieting. My wife and I choose to eat mostly Paleo. This leads to a lot of discussion when we are at get togethers. We almost always bring a Paleo dish with meat in order to be sure we have something. Many say “this is good…is it really healthy.” I prefer not to say diet anymore, just creates confusion. We say it’s not a diet its a lifestyle.

    • Ashley July 17, 2013 at 6:56 am #

      Shane, I really like that you and your wife bring a healthy dish and share it with others. That’s a great way to open up a conversation about your healthy lifestyle. I’ll have to make sure I do the same. That way it won’t look funny when I’m only eating the veggie try at get togethers!

Leave a Reply

