What I’ve Learned in my First Month of CrossFit

13 Jul

focus

I have done a lot of searching in terms of finding what works for me on a health and fitness level. I’ve tried all the DVD’s, gone to spin classes, kick boxing, Pilates, yoga, and ran races from 5ks to full marathons. I don’t regret doing any of those things. I think they’ve made good memories and I have learned a lot about my body in the process. But what I’ve come to learn, as of recently, is that I was doing it all wrong. Primarily because my mindset was wrong. My goals were to fit into my skinny jeans…I really wasn’t doing it to be healthy. I was doing it to be vain.

Working out has always been my hobby, and it is major stress reliever. But when I was working out, I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted the results to be {but never were}. I was at war with myself, and working out was more of a battle ground where I tore myself apart. I know I’m not alone in this. I know many women compare themselves to images they see, and then hustle off to the gym with loathing inside. Many people hate working out and only do it because it keeps them looking a certain way. Which isn’t necessarily horrible, but let’s look at it another way…

What if working out was empowering. What if instead of thinking of all your imperfections, you focused on how amazing your body is. And what if we looked at every move we struggle through, as fear leaving the body, and us becoming stronger. What if you worked out at a gym where the other members encourage you, and look forward to spending time together, instead of getting the stink eye from the girl on the elliptical…{you know what I’m talking about!} or having to find the treadmill furthest away from “Brick Breaker” who is doing a horrible job hiding the fact that he’s checking all the girls out but not really working out himself, grunting and puffing out his chest while he’s on a machine.

Well, I have. I found an amazing gym {CrossFit Lake Effect} and a new sport. I know a lot of my friends are sick of me talking about it, but I’m totally, and irrevocably in love with CrossFit. I’ve only been at it a few short weeks, but already my body has started changing {I ran for 10+ years and no change… I do CrossFit for 3 weeks and I look almost completely different}. I’m happier too, mainly because I’m just happy I can finish a workout and not die, but also because the people there are so welcoming and encouraging. I have a long road ahead of me to get to where I want to be in the sport, but I’m enjoying it. Even though I struggle, there is beauty in the pain. It’s breaking my pride, humbling myself, and I’m learning to give it my all.

crossfit inspiration

Photo Credit HERE

I know some people are very critical of CrossFit, and I think it’s because they haven’t tried it. It’s definitely one of those “try it for yourself” things. I was at the gym the other week and was trying to figure out how to get Ryan into the sport, and someone said , “Work your bum off, and get in the best shape of your life. People can’t argue with results.” I thought that was genius advice. And it’s true about everything. I can talk about CrossFit, my faith, or healthy eating until I’m blue in the face, but if I don’t walk the walk, it doesn’t matter.

In defense of the “it’s a fad” belief. It’s actually a sport. ESPN doesn’t cover “Pilates Competitions”, right? Ask Rich Froning if it’s a fad, or any of the other people who put all their time and money into competing. For me, it will probably never be to that scale. Just like someone who plays basketball doesn’t expect to play for the NBA…But nevertheless they still play for fun and for exercise, and to be part of a team. They’ll watch basketball, and spend hours practicing. CrossFit is a sport just the same. I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for the 2013 Reebok CrossFit GamesΒ {July 22nd-28th}.

I’m not saying it’s for everyone. Everyone has different priorities, and I completely understand that CrossFit can be obsessive and annoying to others who don’t do it. But here’s why I’m “obsessed” –

My Results in the First Month of CrossFit:

  • More energy
  • Getting Stronger…every day I progress {at least a little}
  • More independent
  • More Confidence {in all aspects of life, not just physical}
  • Down 1 dress size
  • Baby muscles are starting to grow πŸ™‚

strong is beautiful

Your Turn

Have you tried CrossFit?

If so, what’s your experience been like?

If not, why?

5 Responses to “What I’ve Learned in my First Month of CrossFit”

  1. j! ayson July 13, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    I’ve been doing Crossfit for almost 2 months and absolutely love it. Every class is scary and always a challenge but I love pushing myself outside my comfort zone. I love seeing my progress and getting stronger after each wod. It’s so addicting.

    • Ashley July 14, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets scared before class! I feel like I’m about to go on a roller coaster each time! Major butterflies πŸ™‚
      Maybe that’s why it’s so addicting πŸ™‚

      • j! ayson July 14, 2013 at 9:07 am #

        Yeah my anxiety levels are always super high before each class. Even after 6 weeks of class, levels aren’t as high but anxiety is definitely still there. But I still love it! πŸ™‚

  2. Kate July 15, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    Have you tried CrossFit? No.

    If not, why? I haven’t had the opportunity yet.

    This post has completely sold Cross Fit to me and I definitely want to try it out asap now. Currently, I am definitely in a mixed place where 1. I work out because I enjoy it and it makes me feel great BUT 2. I do it because there are things about my body I want to change.

    It’s hard to find a balance with this but slowly I am getting there, up until 3 months ago I purely did it to change my body, so I know I will get there eventually.

    This post is so inspiring, I’m pleased for you you’ve found something you love.

    • Ashley July 15, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Hi Kate!
      I’m glad it was helpful! I highly encourage you to try CrossFit. It’s about so much more then getting in shape. It takes mental focus and challenges you spiritually to {You really learn how mentally tough you are and what you are capable of}. But your body will change rapidly too. πŸ™‚

      Let me know if you try it! ❀

Leave a Reply

