CrossFit Motivation

8 Jul

Chicken 2

I’ve always been a bit contrary. I like to run in the rain, I {claim to} like cold weather, When Ryan told me he liked long hair…I cut it all off…and when he said he liked blonde…I went dark. I’ve always been one to challenge my boundaries. Now that I’m an adult, I need to do this in a less passive aggressive form.

ashshort

That’s why I workout. I like to push myself. CrossFit is my new favorite way to release stress while pushing my own limits. When I enter the CrossFit Lake Effect, I literally feel all my problems fall off my shoulders. I can focus on what I came to do. You have to pay attention too…something I’m not use to. Going to “bootcamp” style classes, I was still able to talk to classmates and joke around. Not to say CrossFit isn’t fun. It TOTALLY IS. And the CrossFit community is amazing {another reason I’m hooked} but when it’s time to listen, you better, and when it’s time for the WOD…you can’t talk. I don’t think it’s physically possible.

Before I started CrossFit I would watch the WOD’s {Workout of the day} on Crossfit.com or my iWOD app.  I was intimidated by the athletes- they looked like they could eat me for breakfast…

Iceland Annie: Reebok Games Winner 2012

annie

Photo Credit HERE

I’ve only been at it a few weeks now, but I can already tell this is going to be something I invest a lot of time and energy into. Here’s a list of my goals, or the top reasons I think YOU should try CrossFit {if you don’t already}.

rRCrossFit

 

Your Turn: 

What about you, do you workout to release stress?

Have you gone to a CrossFit gym? 

6 Responses to “CrossFit Motivation”

  1. roamintwin July 8, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    I work out to release stress! I haven’t much until more recently, but I am now! I love going to the gym with my fiance because we motivate one another and having him there with me pushes me that extra rep, that extra minute. Now, with the wedding in my foreseeable future, I am also taking to booty bootcamp, zumba, pilates/yoga, belly dancing, balaties, and pole/chair fitness a few times a week. I don’t think CrossFit is for me (have never tried it, but at this time, am intimidated as f***), but I mix up my routine. I also like to get up early and go on long walks, followed by an ice cold shower!

    Wow, all of this you don’t care about! Regardless, yes, this is the beginning of my working out to relieve stress. Plus, looking and feeling great is the best thing EVER. Happy Happy Monday!

    • Ashley July 8, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

      Isn’t working out the best stress reliever?! I work out with my husband too, it’s how we started dating- our second date was a trail run by the lake! Scientist say that doing physical activity with your significant other will strengthen not only your body, but you relationship too! Keep up the good work. And if you ever want to try crossfit, just know that everyone has to start somewhere, and you are stronger than you know! Happy wedding planning! {is your wedding this summer?! Congrats!}

      -Ash

      • roamintwin July 8, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

        Thanks for the congrats! We have until March, so I am giving myself plenty of time to get fit (and maybe fall off the wagon a time or two?). I was so glad he wanted to join me in my fitness journey. I was SOOOO embarrassed to sweat in font of him for the first time. I turn TOMATO red within a few minutes of exercise, even if it isn’t strenuous! But he loves me regardless, so that is wonderful. It’s kind of a bonding, date thing. But, seriously, thanks for this post. Maybe I will muster up the courage to try CrossFit as I get in better shape? I am pretty strong and flexible, but, for instance, I went to hot yoga one time and about passed out. Had my first panic attack! Haha. Have a wonderful evening!

      • Ashley July 9, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

        Kudos on doing hot yoga! I think I’d pass out too! If you do have a CrossFit gym by you, definitely try it! Take your fiancé! Everything can be scaled to you. I’m still on the trainer bar for a lot of the moves {15-45lbs}. But keep up the good work! You are going to rock that wedding dress 🙂

  2. Jason Lawson July 10, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    If you an Ryan would ever like to join me for a WOD at GHHS, I would be more than happy to have you. Great to hear you are hooked on CF!

    • Ashley July 10, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks Jason! Sounds like fun. I know Ryan really liked it the other day with you guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

