The ‘Power’ of Food

3 Jul

Good Eats

food-as-medicine

Photo Credit HERE

The more I eat REAL food, the better I feel. I know I’m not alone on this one. On my journey to strong, I have come to banish counting calories, scales, and the obsession with dress sizes. When your intention changes from being “skinny” to being STRONG, you appreciate food more, and your body. I have a new respect for food. Everything I consume, I think of what it’s doing for my body, after all “Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food”  Hippocrates.  I think we can get so wrapped up in counting calories and the whole ‘calorie-in-calorie-out’ mentality that we forget how God intended food to be used…to sustain us and give us strength.

I have been a calorie counter for years. But now I focus on portion control and quality of food over quantity. It’s so refreshing to look forward to eating fresh avocado, or using organic coconut oil and not have to worry about if I’m over my calorie limit for the day! Understanding the benefits of healthy fats and how they work in your body is very important. That being said, I’m on a quest to make the healthiest protein bar possible. I’m always on the go, so I need something that is going to give me energy without a sugar or caffeine crash. I also need protein to keep up with my workout regime and active lifestyle.

Raspberry Chocolate Power Bites {No Bake}

2013-07-02 21.23.44

Ingredients: Serves a Bakers Dozen…{I ate a few in the process…too good to wait!}

1/4 Cup Fresh Raspberries

1/2 Cup Halved Walnuts- mashed

1/4 Cup Coconut Flour {great source of plant fiber}

1/4 Cup Chocolate Powdered Peanut Butter {I use Just Good Stuff Organic Powder}

1 tbs Coconut Oil 2013-07-02 20.07.47 {Coconut Oil is my new fav. Read more about the benefits of Coconut oil HERE}

Coating Ingredients:

1/4 Cup Flaxmeal

1/4 Cup Organic Stevia

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients together except for the coating.

If you have a food processor, this would be much easier. But since I am an unpampered chief…I used my Oster on the go blender. {See..cooking doesn’t have to be fancy schmancy. Mix it means mix it…doesn’t matter how it’s done.}

2013-07-02 20.35.31

Next, I put it into a bowl, spooned it out, rolled it into a ball, and then I dipped it into a bowl of stevia, and then rolled it into a bowl of flaxmeal to give it that “faux-powedered sugar” appeal.

Put it in the fridge to harden for up to 2-3 hours.

Results: YUM

2013-07-02 20.51.12

Chocolate Peanut Butter Power Bites {No Bake}

Ingredients: makes about 2 dozen

4 Cups Chocolate Whey Protein

1/4 Cup Coconut Flour

1/3 Cup Powdered Peanut Butter {Organic, Just Good Stuff}

1/3 Cup Sliced Organic, Raw Almonds

1 tbs Coconut Oil

Coating: 1/3 Cup Flaxmeal 1/4 {ish} Cup Organic Stevia

Directions: Mix together all the ingredients except for the coating.

Coating: in two separate bowls, one with flaxmeal, and one with stevia, roll the balls.

Place in fridge to let harden for 2-3 hours.

RESULTS: Ah-Ma-Zing!

2013-07-02 21.23.34

{This has BOTH the chocolate and the raspberry, you can see the raspberry has a “raspberry” color.}

Power Pet Treats {bites would sound bad here…don’t ya think!}

Our four legged friends often get the short end of the stick when it comes to nutrition. But if you have a dog like mine, you realize that dogs are just as sensitive to all this processed food as we are. Again, God intended them to eat food that HE created. So I decided to show them some Paleo love too!

2013-07-02 21.39.16

Ingredients:

2 Sweet Potatoes

1/2 Cup Peanut Butter {I used USDA organic peanut butter…ingredients: peanuts and sea salt, and organic cane sugar}

2013-07-02 20.20.22

1/4 Cup Coconut Flour

2013-07-02 20.19.56

1 Egg

2013-07-02 20.21.23

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Steam, peel, and then mash the sweet potatoes.

Mix all your ingredients together. Scoop out desired bite sizes and bake for 10 minutes {or until golden brown}.

RESULT: Happy Dogs. I ate them too actually… They are really good. I think if you added some stevia or salt…either way, it would make a good “people treat” too. I actually had to put them away because I kept “tasting” them.

IMG_1660 IMG_1662

Happy Pups

11 Responses to “The ‘Power’ of Food”

  1. Kirby July 3, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    Love it! This all sounds delicious! I am impressed- in the short time you’ve been cooking you’re already writing your own recipes? You’re a natural!

    • Ashley July 3, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks Kirby! I’m too ADD to follow a recipe. I look at other recipes, pick things here and there, and change it and make it new. Sometimes I just experiment in the kitchen…Once you know what mixes well together, it becomes really easy to just throw things together and see what happens! But you know that! You’re an expert in the kitchen woman! ❤

  2. sammy July 6, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Looks good. But peanut butter is not paleo (just to be technical). Nice blog.

    • Ashley July 6, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! I did hear that about PB2 recently… I’m wondering if it’s because the oils are removed? Maybe I’ll have to make some with organic Almond Butter 😉 Paleo or not, I’m irrevocably addicted to PB2. Do you try to eat Paleo?

      • sammy July 6, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

        No, I’m not paleo…but peanuts are a legume…and legumes aren’t paleo. Whey (dairy) is not paleo either…though there is a big “spectrum” of paleo and primal and some paleo followers will consume 100% clean whey powder, its still not ‘technically” paleo (paleo = nuts, vegs, fruits, meats, fats)…primal adds in some dairy …but its all categories…eat what you want, not by a label.

      • Ashley July 7, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

        Good to know! Thank you! Yeah, I’m never giving up peanut butter. I do think it’s better to eat clean and balanced, but we can get so caught up in eating a particular “plan” that it almost becomes a religion! Thanks for the comment ❤

  3. Annie & Crystal (@undertheoaksnc) July 10, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    I love the dog treats! That would be perfect for my little man. Thanks for the recipe! – Annie

    • Ashley July 10, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      Glad you like it! My dogs went nuts for these! They’re not usually hard to please, I give them a lot of carrots for treats, but they obeyed my every command when I had these in my hand! Thanks for reading!
      -Ash

  4. foods with carbs July 13, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your
    blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. Many thanks

    • Ashley July 14, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by! Hope to see you on here again, soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snack Attack! | ohsheshines - July 7, 2013

    […] 5. Protein Bites: I’m a huge fan of Quest bars. but they get pricy at about $3/bar. I use to eat one or two a day, but now I save them as treats. I make my own power bites that are vegan and gluten free. You can find the recipe HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

