Shop the Perimeter

23 Jun

Getting Restocked.

If you don’t make a plan, you plan to fail {I am so turning into my mother…}

Last week I practically survived on baby carrots, Spinach Protein shakes, grapefruit, and quest bars.

2013-06-22 20.06.54 2013-06-22 20.06.22

Although, it’s healthier than other “on the go” food choices, I really missed cooking in the kitchen. So it was time to get stocked up.

Grocery List

2013-06-23 11.56.28

 

I love to grocery shop. I consider it prosaic..I love reading food labels, and seeing what’s in season, or if there are any new products out. I spend more money on food than anything else. I buy my clothes at Goodwill, and my food at top quality. It’s worth the trade off. I’m sure you’ve heard of this, but I usually focus on shopping the perimeter of the store when looking for healthy choices. I could never understand why people buy “flavored” items…when you could just eat the real thing (ex: strawberry fruit snacks….Just eat Strawberries people!)

I had to go to a couple stores today to find my beloved Ezekiel Bread…But it’s the only bread I’ll eat. It’s made from sprouts and seeds.

2013-06-23 12.40.04 AND it’s the only “bread” that won’t upset my IBS.

I think you should always try something new too, so tonight I’m going to make “Chicken Sausage”

2013-06-23 12.41.22

I will eat it sans bread of course, But Ryan will eat em’ just like they are hot dogs.

Then I got into the great protein debate…..I LOVE GNC, and I’ve been using their protein powder for a long time. But it does get pricey.

2013-06-22 20.14.35

The ISO-DEFINE tastes amazing, is 150 cal, 4.5g fat, 2g sugar, 9g carbs and 20g protein. It’s also $50 and have 20 serving sizes. Making it $2.50/ shake.

The Designer Whey has 100 cal, 2g fat, 2g sugar, 6g carbs, and 18g protein. It was $21 and 28 servings….making it .75 cents per protein shake….

and the winner was….

2013-06-23 12.52.45

What Protein Powder do you use? I use it everyday, so it really matters to me that I’m putting the best into my body. But at the same time…money matters too. I am joining Lake Effect Crossfit soon, so I need to watch my pennies! With every decision we make, saying YES to one thing, means saying NO to another. So I’am going to be a “frugal foodie” from now on. My main mantra is that you need to eat food. Real food. In the form that GOD made it. So, lets just pray that fruits and veggies remain affordable!

Because this is my attempt to grow my own food:

2013-06-22 19.58.33 2013-06-22 19.59.27

Let’s just say that if I had to grow my own food…I’d be dead by now! I seriously eat at least a 1lb bag of veggies/ day….three jalapeños and a few green tomatoes would not even last me past breakfast! God Bless Farmers!!!

I also heard the other day, “Fruit is God’s desert”. I LOVE FRUIT. I do eat it like desert, because it is full of carbs and sugar. I know a lot of people like to go “bananas” with fruit, and claim that it’s a “free food”, but I actually gained MORE weight juicing fruits and eating them in large quantities. So like anything, balance is key. My new favorite is putting grapes in the freezer! They’re like popsicle bites! So good!

I also LOVE 80 cal vanilla greek yogurt with PB2 and fresh fruit. {it’s a taste of heaven on earth!}

2013-06-23 13.11.22

And I will leave you with this little tid-bit for inspiration. I had a friend once tell me that “eating it the most intimate thing we do.” This is so true {think about it for a sec…it effects every cell in our bodies, and it can control how we feel} This being said, you can’t have a good workout without proper fuel. Eat to live. Not Live to eat. Food is power, use it wisely!

health

Leave a Reply

