Read. Run. Eat

23 Jun

Have you heard of Rich Froning?

Rich-Froning-Jr-12

 

photo credit: http://malecelebbio.com/gallery/2013/03/Rich-Froning-Jr-12.jpg

I have been on a reading kick lately, but I’ve found that my passion for literary works is waning, and I’m more interested in biographies and memoirs. It was serendipitous that I am getting into CrossFit and the male face of CrossFit comes out with a memoir…and then, it just so happens that I felt God put it on my heart to only read about things that are honoring to God….and guess what?! Froning’s book has a Christian focus. Double Score! I snagged an ebook copy HERE. I have the NOOK app on my iPad, but I found that I can download the FREE CBDreader app from christianbook.com. I really liked that I was supporting a Christian bookstore too. Bn.com does not have the ebook yet. So If you are impatient like me, get the ebook at christianbook.com and download the free CBDreader app and you’ll be in like flynn.

I thought this was really cool too, watch a typical workout for Rich Froning HERE.

I love working out and challenging myself. It gives me an incredible boost of self esteem to know that I gave something my all. Right now I know I have a long road ahead of myself to get fit enough to fully complete CrossFit WODs the way they are meant to be done. But I am really excited to see where my journey will take me.

At times I feel guilty for being so dedicated to working out. So I hope this memoir gives me a good perspective on Faith and Fitness. I’ll keep ya updated 😉

Run

Today I went on a 4 mile run. It was way too hot. I ran by the lake and it literally looked the like beach was one giant ant hill.

GHCityBeach2

 

But I was still glad that I did it. I was putting it off for TOO long.

I used a new playlist that I wanted to share with you. I thought it was a good one:

“Run it” Playlist

Song:                    Artist:

Radioactive          Imagine Dragons

Light Em Up        Fall Out Boy

Sail                         AWOLNATION

Blurred Lines       feat. T.I. & Pharrell

I’m Down               The Almost

Raise The Banner      Audio Adrenaline

More of You             Goo Goo Dolls

Slow it Down          Goo Goo Dolls

What a Mystery      Josh Wilson

 

I know it’s a bit of a mix up between secular and Christian music, but It’s upbeat and really gets you motivated. I ran super fast up hills to the first four songs, and then at a moderate, contemplative pace for the rest. I think it’s a keeper for a fast run.

Food

2013-06-23 20.06.55

 

Tonight’s dinner was gluten free breaded chicken and veggies in parmesan cheese! So YUM

2013-06-23 19.21.08 2013-06-23 19.25.18

 

Here’s what I did:

I took 1 gallon sized zip lock bag and put in the following-

1/2 cup Glutino bread crumbs

1/2 tbs Slap Ya Mamma

1/4 tbs Morton’s MSG Free Garlic Salt

1/2 tbs Cilantro

Put it in the bag and shake. It can’t get easier than that!

This mix was enough for 4 chicken breasts (2 for us for tonight, and 2 for leftovers tomorrow).

2013-06-23 19.27.27

 

Bake for 35 minutes at 375 degrees.

Then I simply steamed the veggies in the microwave in a bowl with a little water and a paper towel over it. DON’T buy steamer bags, WASTE of money. This works even better.

Then I sprinkled some low fat parmesan cheese and sea salt on the veggies. So easy. Took 45 minutes to make if you include prep time. But I actually got my ab workout in while it was baking, so totally hands off, easy peasy, lemon squeezy.

I’m thinking Glutino Breadcrumbs will become a staple in my kitchen

For desert we had FROZEN GRAPES!! {Caution…once you pop, you can’t stop!}

2013-06-23 19.30.54

 

If you try this – just know that they don’t 100% fully freeze. They take a couple hours too. But It’s my new summer treat! I shared it with my nieces {4 and 6 years old} over the week and convinced them it was their “treat” for the day! I love that they totally bought it and LOVED it! They were really excited about it too. So fun to pass on a passion for healthy eating! ❤

Leave a Reply

