Love at First WOD

19 Jun

Love at First WOD

Here I go…blogging too much again! But this couldn’t wait until tomorrow.

crossfitpic

 

Pin It!

I took a HUGE step for me and went out of my comfort zone. I finally went to a CrossFit gym! (applause on putting my grown up pants on would be nice!) I have talked a lot about CrossFit inspired workouts, and about my goals of actually doing REAL CrossFit. Well, it TOTALLY lived up to the hype! I was happy to have my friend Angela there too. She was great, cheering me on. That’s one thing that really stood out to me…it was so encouraging. When I usually go to a typical gym, people don’t talk to each other. I mean, when was the last time you went to a spin class and the chick next to you said, “Wow, you really worked that hill. Good job!”  Um, never. Even my  own mother is a spin instructor, and you know what she says to me?!?! “You’re goin’ down!”. Ok, my family’s a bit competitive…I’ll save that for another time.

So here’s a quick look at my first impression of Lake Effect CrossFit

  • It was welcoming. When you’re new to an intimidating sport like CrossFit, this is key!
  • It was professional. The trainer knows his stuff! With every move he explained what we were doing, how, and why.
  • It was encouraging. Not only was the trainer encouraging, but so were the other athletes! (ok- they were athletes…not me…)
  • It was challenging. Oh man. That’s an understatement.
  • It was flexible- there were a variety of  class times I could choose from .
  • The trainer was able to adjust the workout to my fitness level.
  • It was clean.
  • They have top quality equipment.
  • Friendly. Any gym that has a dog hanging around is a great gym. Dogs can inherently tell if you’re a good person or not…if everyone was like a dog, the world would be a much better place…but again, I digress…

My Personal fitness goals with CrossFit:

  • Gain strength
  • Improve Everyday
  • Be able to do more than hang on the bar…actually be able to do pull ups
  • Understand my body better
  • Push myself further than I ever imagined I could!
  • Grow my baby muscles!

Nutrition is important to fulfill my goals. So tonight when I got home I made myself a Chocolate Spinach Protein Shake. Yum. (Also ate the “ugly loaf” from last nights dinner)

2013-06-19 21.25.33 2013-06-19 21.21.25

Like my old school ice cube tray? Yup, pretty sweet…

Simple Ingredients:

1 Scoop Chocolate Protein Powder

2 fist fulls of spinach

1 cup ice cubes

1 pack stevia

Result: HAPPY. HAPPY. HAPPY. A great treat to feed my muscles at the end of a hard day’s work.

2013-06-19 21.33.48 2013-06-19 21.30.22

BEST way to end the day…Puppy love.

2013-06-19 21.18.17 2013-06-17 20.31.21

Love that they think carrots are a treat!

Your turn! Have you tried a CrossFit gym? 

Leave a Reply

