Every Day is a New Beginning

19 Jun

2013-06-19 12.50.56

Random pic….but I’m loving summer and what the sun/pool is doing to my hair. I’m an accidental blonde, but I’ll take it. Thank you Mr. Sunshine. 🙂

I notice that I have been blogging way too much lately. But what else am I supposed to do while the Irrigation Guy fixes my sprinklers?

Tonight is a big event at the YMCA promoting the new CrossFit gym. I asked the hubs if I could join and got a big fat “NO”….So, I researched to see if there were any other gyms that would let you pay as you go instead of signing a contract. I found  one that is a stone’s throw from my house. I can’t believe I am  JUST finding out about it. Anyways, unlike the Y, they have the first class FREE! So, um, yes, sign me up! I can’t wait to learn proper form from a professional. I have tried to youtube things like “clean and press”, “turkish getups”, and more…but since this type of workout is totally new to me, I need someone telling me if I’m doing it right.

Devotions

*Reading from Romans 7

“The Bible is meant to be our Daily Bread, not our Desert…”  I can’t recall where I read this, but it stuck out to me. If we’re being honest, how many times do we only acknowledge God on Sundays and Holidays? Or when our lives are good?

Or what about when we hear about a tragedy and thank God that it’s not us? Didn’t that last one sound awful?! I’m looking at my own heart today and realizing how greedy and self focused I am. Apostle Paul recognized it in his heart too when he wrote,

We know that (God’s law) is spiritual; but I am unspiritual… I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do….I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry  it out…(Romans 7:15-19)

Can you relate? You want to start each day by setting yourself apart. You might say, “Today I’m going to _________.” But you you don’t.  You miss your goal. Maybe you want to show love to an “enemy”, for God tells us to love our enemies (a lot easier said than done at times). Maybe you want to be more patient? kind hearted? Bold? Everyone has something they want to do to better themselves. It’s in our nature. It’s also in our nature to self sabotage.

For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do – this I keep on doing….So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s laws; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. what a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God- through Jesus Christ out Lord! (Romans 7:19-25)

What is sin? What is evil? Well, I’m no theologian, but I’ll tell you what I think it is – Anything that separates us from God. That might look different to a lot of people. What blesses one may hinder another. This reminds me of a conversation I had with a girlfriend of mine yesterday. She said “Hey a friend of mine loves this site called bodyrocktv.com, you should check it out.” Now, I know a lot of people who like that site, and I think it’s awesome that they share free workouts and advice. HOWEVER, for me, it is a stumbling block. I start to compare myself to their images, and then it creates poor body image for me. I am not saying it’s “bad” or “evil”, but in my own walk with God, I feel that it is not helpful for me and my relationship with Christ. It makes me compare myself, and fills me with self doubt…God wants me to look to Him to find my identity, not others. I do follow a lot of great bloggers who I feel are modest and encourage healthy body image. But sometimes I’ll come across stuff and I feel that God tells me “not for you”.

I need to listen to that “gut feeling”; that’s how I follow God. He is not an auditory voice in my ear, but a feeling in my heart and my gut. I need to listen to that in order to do what is “good” and to keep myself from doing what  my self seeking human nature wants to do (For example, I WANT to sleep in, eat Oreos, and read all day….but that would do no one any good- especially myself). Paul got it. He knew that he didn’t have the strength or the wisdom by himself to what is good. Our nature will always be self seeking.

Think of a time when you’ve helped someone….Is it really what you wanted to do? Do you ever really want to workout? It’s painful! I’ve had people say to me, “Why are you doing that (helping, serving, etc), what do they do for you?” Or “You’re crazy, why do you give your time, you don’t get anything in return…” But the truth is that I get far more in return than I give.

My heart is so full, and I feel an unnatural sense of joy when I serve others. It is inconvenient…I would rather sleep in on a Sunday than help out at church. If you say you wouldn’t, I would think you were a lair. Deep down I know that I have these selfish desires. But giving and serving is the same as working out. It’s a muscle you build, and over time it gets easier. You think of yourself less, and others more.

But it’s not something I can do on my own. I need to pray that God will give me His eyes to see His people. Because sometimes people just down right make me MAD, and I want to be rude back, and I want to say that last word, and I want to give dirty looks….but I know that since Christ lives in me, that I need to let that selfish side my my heart die. And when someone cuts me off, or says something hurtful….I need to be Jesus to them. I need to have grace, and mercy, and forgiveness. A man once asked Jesus how many times he should forgive his neighbor…the man asked if 7 times was enough….Jesus responded “7 times 77.” which doesn’t literally mean 539 times, but continually, unconditionally. God doesn’t tell us that he will only forgive us “x” amount of times. Thank God! (Now there is something to be said for letting people use you, which is different, you can forgive someone and still decide that they do not need to be a part of your life. Some people are just toxic for us to be around).

I think my point is this: Each day is a new beginning. Each day is a gift, and each day we have the choice to either rely on God and do good, or rely on our selves and give in to our natural self seeking desires. I share this with you NOT because I’m “GOOD”, but because I struggle too. Daily, I struggle, and daily it reminds me that I need to rely on Jesus for my self esteem, and how I treat people…even what I blog about.

Here’s a great video from the Skit Guys that I think relates to this post:

God’s Chisel Remastered Video

Here’s another video….This is why I blog about God and am not afraid to stand up for what I believe in:

God’s Not Dead

2 Responses to “Every Day is a New Beginning”

  1. Must Have Boxes June 19, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    Your hair is gorgeous!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

