Try Something New Tuesday

18 Jun

Since Ryan has pleaded with me to cook something other than chicken breast and veggies, I have decided to try (or create) a new recipe every Tuesday. Oh boy, I made up my own meat loaf…I call it…”Ugly Loaf”. It sure was ugly, but it tasted AMAZING!

I went shopping for my meatloaf ingredients and discovered Lemondrop Melon. Say What?! Have you seen this melon:

2013-06-18 19.59.062013-06-18 19.59.182013-06-18 19.59.46

It tastes like a honeydew melon with a lemon aftertaste. It was too sweet for me, but Ryan liked it. In my opinion it almost tastes like a Lemonhead. So if you like the candy, you might like this healthier version. I’m thinking this will be popular with children- so if you have kids, use them as your guniea pigs!

“Ugly Loaf” – Don’t judge a food by its cover 🙂

I actually made two. Ryan is anti chicken apparently. So I made one with organic lean chicken for me, and one with lean beef for Ryan  (He is so lucky we only have fur-babies at this point…otherwise I would say the same thing I say to my 3rd and 4th graders, “You get what you get and you DON’T throw a fit!”).

Here are my ingredients:

2013-06-18 16.50.03

(The only difference between my meatloaf and Ryan’s is the chicken)

1/3 cup glutino gluten free bread crumbs

2 eggs (I like cage free, free range eggs)

1/2 tomato diced

1/3 cup shredded fat free mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup chopped red onions

1/4 tbs Morton’s MSG free garlic and salt seasoning

1/4 tbs cayenne pepper

1/4 tbs Slap Ya Mama (only in Ryan’s) or 1/4 tbs cilantro (only in mine)

1lb Ground Chicken OR Lean Beef

1 handful os fresh Spinach

1/4 cup marinara sauce

2013-06-18 16.54.31

step 1: Combine tomatoes, bread crumbs, and onions

2013-06-18 17.03.16

Step 2: rip up spinach, add cheese.

In a separate bowl, combine eggs and seasoning.

2013-06-18 17.00.50

Step 3: mix all ingredients in one bowl. Add meat. Stir.

2013-06-18 17.08.48

Step 4: Pour into meatloaf pans (coated with non-stick olive oil spray)

I actually made these before Ryan got home. Then I wrapped them, put them in the fridge, and then Ryan and I went to the gym as soon as he got home.

After they gym I  popped those bad boys in the oven. I heated it at 375 degrees….

Now, I had no clue how long it would take….I kinda felt like Gracie here…

2013-06-18 16.42.45

HUNGRY! (I can just see her saying “Please Sir, I want some more.”)

I checked at the meatloaf at 30 min…not done. 10 more minutes….bubbly, but not done. 10 MORE minutes….FINALLY! so if you add that up, you cook it at 375, for 50 min. But, it was worth it. You could jack up the heat and save time, but I’m glad I didn’t. It was so juicy and perfect! (I’m making myself hungry again! Leftovers are calling my name!)

2013-06-18 21.02.06

Mine- Chicken (Oh yea, I put the marinara sauce on it right before I popped it in the oven.)

2013-06-18 21.02.09

Ryan’s (Beef..MoOoOoOo!)

2013-06-18 21.04.40

Didn’t scoop out so pretty…but then again, it was still piping hot. I was pretty hungry and impatient at this point. We also tried Brussel Sprouts…they were O.K. I put a little lite butter and sea salt on them…kinda like small heads of lettuce. They were edible…but maybe next Tuesday I’ll only try one new thing at a time….:/

2013-06-18 21.17.37

Waste not, want not. We have plenty of leftovers for the week! I think this is one leftover I will be glad to head up for lunch!! It was out of this world good. Husband Rating 8.5 (out of 10). I asked what a 10 would be…He said Scribs or Clover Bar Pizza. I don’t do pizza, so I guess I’m ok with an 8.5 (even thought I’m determined to get a 10 sooner or later). He said it would have been a 9, but the brusssel sprouts screwed me over…Lovely.

Ryan’s Desert: Summer Shandy

My Desert: Quest Bar – Apple Pie Flavor (one of my favs)

Try Something New Treadmill Workout

I tried a new workout that I put together:

Super Sweaty 25 Min HIIT Run

Time                         Speed                          Incline

2 min                     4.0                                     9.0

1 min                      6.5                                      0

1min                        7.0                                     0

1min                        7.5                                     0

1min                        8.0                                    0

2min                        4.0                                 13.0 (MAX incline)

Repeat 3 more times for a total of 4 Rounds

For strength I did Jess’ 4 minute Fat Blaster workout…which is 4 minutes per move, with a total of 4 moves- so 16 min of strength. Oh WOW, was I glad it was only about 16 min. YIKES, it was intense. I ended up doing 80 squat jumps, 40 plank jack-spideys, 40 split jack lunges, and 40 1/2 burpees….I always feel like I’m in great shape until I do one of Jess’ workouts… I was literally on my back gasping for breath after this workout. I LOVED every minute of it!

So, That’s it for try something new Tuesday. A new recipe, workout, and a new book! I’m off to read myself to sleep with Room by Emma Donoghue. The lady who runs Booked for the Season, a second hand book store, recommended it to me…and when the owner of a book store recommends something, I can usually trust it will be a good read.

What about you? What are you currently reading? (Torrey, You better answer this! You’re always reading something! 🙂 )

If you don’t like a book, do you still finish it? (I struggle with this!)

Leave a Reply

