Faith Focused Sunday Runday

17 Jun

Sleeping In…

2013-05-19 20.34.30

 

So, it’s Sunday and I usually go to church on Sundays. I look forward to going because it gives me a strong sense of family. My church community is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. We’ve been going to our current church for 7 years now. I have met so many people who are now my role models. I just love it. Oh, and we have a coffee shop (free will donation) in our church…definitely doesn’t hurt!

Now that you know how much I adore my church….on another note, Today I slept in, and missed BOTH services (so unlike me).

I had two choices: 1. feel guilty. or 2. Recognize that I needed sleep, and I can still put God first.

It reminded me of what my friend  had once told me:

“Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes someone a mechanic.”

I think this is true. After all, Jesus says that there will be a day where many people “labored” in His name, but their hearts were far from Him.(ex: televangelists…or people who say their believer of a certain religion just to maintain a social reputation). The truth is, God is everywhere, and He cares about your heart.

So I decided to turn my run into my “Church” time. I made an awesome playlist of all Christian artists (Holy talent batman!) and focused on thanking God for His faithfulness in my life.

My Faith Focused Run

PROS:

1: Running by Lake Michigan, which always makes me in awe of God’s creation.

2: My body is a temple (1Corinthians 6:90-20). I am constantly thankful to God for the ability to Run.

3: NEW MUSIC with lyrics that are beautiful and complex,biblical and honor God.

4: Helps me to reflect on what I’m thankful for. My revelation today was that I’m thankful for God’s Grace. He knows I’m not perfect, and loves me anyways.

CONS:

1:I missed my church family. 😦

2: Missing my Pastor , he’s fantastic…but I can still listen to the podcast (I love technology).

“Jesus is my Workout Buddy” Playlist

I’m Down  The Almost (an alternative Christian band)

On the Shores  Melissa Helser & Jonathan David Helser (like a Christian Florence and the Machine)

Anyone But You  Hawk Nelson 

Carry Me  Josh Wilson (My new favorite artist. I bought the whole album)

Pushing Back the Dark   Josh Wilson

Grace Enough for You   Josh Wilson 

Raise the Banner  Audio Adrenaline 

 

King of the Comebacks  Audio Adrenaline 

Savior  Worth Dying For 

This playlist was great. It was upbeat and kept my momentum, and my mind going. I love songs that you can really tune into the lyrics and just let you body loose…Your legs totally know how to run without you telling them to! Shocking, I know.

Running with Dogs…

I also took the ‘kids’ running. They were pretty happy. Rocky is even smiling!

Post Run:

2013-06-16 14.33.38 2013-06-16 14.34.50

 

So I had a little rant on FB about running with dogs today. I would love to hear your opinions…I’m not usually negative…but I was a little frustrated with my “community” on my run.

I love running with my dogs. But please people, I keep my dogs safe. Be wise, do the same. i.e. keep your dog on a leash, if you have a squirrel that barks for a dog, don’t let them have 40ft of leash…Don’t expect every dog to want to be your dogs friend….I tell people “they don’t want to play”, not because my dogs are vicious, but for 1: they are running. they have a job to do (pull me up the hills) 2: Better safe than sorry. I don’t know your dog, and you don’t know mine.

My dogs are so good and sweet. but please, use common sense. (aka my neighbors who are letting their 4 rat terriers run around the street).

P.S. If you don’t like my dogs, we can’t be friends. Sorry.

Was that harsh? Do you run with your dogs? I am a momma bear with my dogs. I hope that doesn’t mean I’m going to be a helicopter parent when I have “real” children.

Do I get a good workout when I take the dogs?  YES

Every time I run with the dogs it’s a HIIT workout

RUN FAST (so Rocky doesn’t chew the leash)

STOP: (pee break)

RUN FAST: (the neighbor’s dog is chasing us…at least  until the electric fence kicks in)

STOP: GOAT. Yes. you read that right….there is a goat that traditionally monitors one of the privately owned beach parking lots….Dogs are unsure what to think about the goat…

RUN FASTER: dogs see a squirrel and try to catch it…while I’m still holding on….

STOP: someone’s dog is off leash and decides to try to make “friends”

RUN FAST

STOP: poop break this time….

RUN FAST….

Get the picture? My dogs are totally worth it though. I just love em’

All in all, it was a great way to spend my morning. When I came home I did a strength Tabata from Jess at Blonde Ponytail.

Progress NOT Perfection

2013-06-13 21.43.18

 

I’ve been working really hard on my workouts.

Food wise…I’ve been eating SUPER healthy..but portions are a little out of wack. I’ve been eating A LOT of guacamole and PB2 and Bananas in Greek Yogurt. Ry asked me to come up with some new recipes ( he said he likes chicken and guac…but not everyday 😦 I could totally live on Chicken and guac!!!!)

So I’m pretty excited to get an early start tomorrow and create a new menu. I’m going to step out of my comfort zone a bit…I guess anything other than Chicken is out of my comfort zone! Stay tuned…I’ll post my food experiments throughout the week.

 

Leave a Reply

