Matter over Mind?

13 Jun

You’ve heard of the mantra “Mind over Matter”, and I can tell you, I totally believe it after running my first marathon back in 09′. However, I have the reverse in mind for today’s post. How many times do we forgo a workout because we are “exhausted” from our daily work? Most of the year I teach 3rd and 4th grade, I have two exceptionally needy dogs, and a husband who would rather starve than cook for himself.  Then in the summer, I tutor, Do hair (have my cosmetology license) and chase after two girls that I nanny; all summer long I have meetings, appointments, and a never ending to-do list. But if I waited for the “right moment” to workout…when my brain wasn’t exhausted…I’d never workout!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For me, working out is more than reps and steps, and looking good. It is a physiological issue. I really believe those endorphins play a major role in starving off anxiety and depression for me. Therefore, the busier I get, the more I need to workout. And if I don’t, I become resentful, bitter, and hostile. Not a pretty picture. Whenever I am snippy with Ryan, he’ll ask : 1. When’s the last time you ate? and 2: Did you get your workout in today? I know that I need to fuel and treat my body well in order to be my best. You really can’t take care of others if you don’t first take care of yourself.

oneaway

Have you seen this on pinterest? It is definitely true for me.

So back to my main point. We are physical beings, and we need to be physical! We can’t live in our brains all the time. I give my students “brain breaks” in between each subject because I know they need to move in order to learn. They’ll jump, do push ups, skip, run, or play ‘Simon Says’- anything that gets them out of their seats and gets them moving. Adults need that too! I took my nieces to the park today and I noticed that CrossFit isn’t all that new…kids have been doing their own variation of CrossFit on the playground for years! Monkey Bars, Gymnast Bars, Pull up rings, Tires- me oh my. I did the monkey bars and tried doing pull ups just for fun with the girls. I’m sore! hah. But we need that. We need that “brain break”, and working out is a grownup version of “play time”. Really. Imagine telling kids they are going to have all school and NO RECESS or gym….

I don’t think we ever stop being kids. I think we keep our childlike selves within us. Think about it…you remember what it’s like to be a kid, right? What it felt like to be little and think simple? Not consumed with jobs, bills, deadlines, and responsibility. We still need to feel that. That’s what working out is. A sliver of time where you can focus on yourself, drown out all the worries around you. Save whatever responsibilities you have until after your workout, quiet your mind, and focus on the simple things…inhale, exhale, push yourself, don’t stop, one more mile, one more rep, you can do it.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that when I workout, I feel connected to God. Especially if I’m running in the woods or by the lake. If you follow me with the logic of play, and that adults are still children in some way, then you can relate to what Jesus meant when he said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3)

Oh, and my fav personal trainer Jess even has a playground/ CrossFit workout! I’m going to do this tomorrow when I take my nieces to the park again!

Ok, now on a lighter note. I want to share an amazing treat with you!

2013-06-12 21.30.26 2013-06-12 21.31.46

Best idea ever. I LOVE peanut butter and jelly, but I don’t like how high in sugar, fat, and carbs it is. So, this is my new version of PBJ.

Love in a Cup

1 Cup 80 cal Strawberry Greek Yogurt

2tbs Powdered Peanut Butter (45 cal)

and I even added 1/2 scoop of my banana protein powder (50cal)

The result: A PARTY IN MY MOUTH. So GOOD! And, it was husband approved! It tastes JUST like an ice cream FLURRY! Except without all the calories and sugar high.

Total cal: 175

Protein: 34 grams

Sugar: 10 grams

carbs: 17 grams

Let me know if you try it!

I will leave you with this pic I found on pinterest.com

strong is beautiful

4 Responses to “Matter over Mind?”

  1. a2barrebeefit June 14, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    So true – sometimes, we need to get out of our heads by pushing ourselves with physical exertion! I am the same way – hard to deal with if I haven’t gotten my work-out in. In the summer, there’s the added bonus of being able to get fresh air while exercising.

    • Ashley June 15, 2013 at 1:38 am #

      Thanks for stoping by! I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets grumpy from missing a workout! ❤

  2. Marpay Fitness June 14, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Hello and welcome to WordPress. Cheers!

    • Ashley June 15, 2013 at 1:37 am #

      Thank you! It’s a bit addicting, but I’m loving the ‘blog’ life:)

Leave a Reply

