Foodie or a Food Snob?

12 Jun

When trying to get fit, experts say it’s all about 20% exercise, and 80% diet. What you put into your body, will definitely either support, or nullify your workout efforts. It may seem common sense, but it’s taken me a long time to completely understand this. Often times my husband will say, “Oh come on, you’ve worked out today, you can have (insert food temptation here)”. So, it’s not to say that you can’t indulge every once and awhile. I definitely think you should. God created food to be tasty, and for us to enjoy it! But it’s all about balance. I’ve spent YEARS killing myself at they gym, coming home, scarfing down hummus and chips, and then not understanding WHY I was GAINING weight. I prided myself on how exclusive I was on eating raw, or vegetarian, or vegan, or pale0…But the truth is that even the healthiest foods need to be eaten in moderation. It’s really hard to come to terms with that- at least it was for me. (I am not criticizing any of these plans. I have learned for myself that I tend to follow trends – thinking it would answer all my problems).

Random funny: (At Christmas breakfast one year)

Dad: Ashley, would you like some bacon?

Me: No, I’m a vegetarian. 

Dad: That’s weird…I thought you were a Christian?

Me: No…Dad, I don’t eat meat.

Dad: Oh, I thought it meant you were in a weird cult…

I guess in some way, he could have been right. I have made the mistake of getting so obsessed with food, that I have made it an idol in my life. 

I have read diet books from experts claiming. ” If you eat this way, you never have to count calories again!” or ” You can eat as much as you want!” This, is just not true. No matter what smoke and mirrors they give you to convince you to buy their product, don’t be fooled.

It’s all about balance.

I do believe that their is healing power in food, and I believe that some processed foods are carcinogens. I also believe you can go crazy on certain diet plans…and become a food snob. I am partially guilty of this. I have come to understand though, that you should never judge others by their food choices. I think God made food so tasty (because He loves us) so that we would build relationships and have community with one another. We were made to be part of a community- that’s also why we all are so different, we each have something to add to a community or relationships. But being a “food snob” can actually push a lot of people away. I realized I was doing this when my girlfriend Jessica asked me where I wanted to go for dinner. I said, “Oh, you pick. I’m not that picky.” and she responded, “Whatever. You are the pickiest person I know!” Which is probably why I don’t get invited to somethings…I have created a reputation for myself as “that” girl that goes crazy over everything she eats. NOT COOL! I have also noticed people make excuses for what they are eating in front of me…”I worked out hard.” or “My diet starts tomorrow.” or “Don’t look! I’m being ‘naughty’!” Oh boy. I DO NOT believe that my own choices should be reflected on others. I hope to encourage and inspire…NOT condemn.

Thus being said, A few things I have learned about my own eating habits:

I believe that 80% of food you eat in a day should be real…by that I mean once living (plants and animals). I know a lot of people go nuts (I have too) over organic foods, but I encourage you to use balance in this arena too. Use the “Dirty Dozen” as a reference of when you should fork over the extra cash for organic items. I personally don’t buy organic if my produce has a thick peel (oranges, grapefruit, avocado).

Dirty-Dozen-Foods

Photo credit: the environmental working group

I’ve also noticed, that sometimes when you crave something…you should just indulge a little. I have often times over eaten on healthy foods…making them unhealthy (cashews!!!!) just because I was avoiding another food (Ben and Jerry’s Chunky Monkey ice cream!) Again. It’s all about balance.

So, now that  I have rambled on and on…Here’s the post I was intending to share with you:

I Slaw It, and I Liked It!

I went to spin class today with my friend Jessica. I had forgotten how much I LOVE spin!

I was definitely hungry afterwards and it was lunch time, so I fixed myself a protein packed Broccoli Slaw salad!

Have you tried cooking with Broccoli Slaw? Definitely an underrated product. You can sauté it and it will taste like pasta, or you can eat it raw and add it to a salad for a unique crunch.

2013-06-12 11.03.32

2013-06-12 11.08.21

Here are my ingredients (Prep time- 5min):

1 cup Broccoli Slaw

1 handful Spinach

1 cooked Chicken Breast (mine was leftover from dinner last night)

2 hard boiled eggs – sliced

1/2 Avocado 2013-06-12 11.04.59

1 pack of 100 cal sea salt almonds

Dressing? I was out. So I used 1tbs lite sour cream 30 cal (wasn’t too bad)… I would recommend using 2 tbs plain greek yogurt in lieu of dressing 40 cal, or Bolthouse Farms’ Yogurt Dressing 45 cal (Ranch is the only one I like…)

The Results? A creamy and crunchy salad!

2013-06-12 11.37.55

I scarfed it down! Delish! What do you recommend adding? I really wish I had some cherry tomatoes to throw in there! Or maybe even experiment with some blueberries or raspberries!

And for a little something sweet:

2013-06-12 11.39.54

My beloved Grapefruit. Strawberries have also been good lately…I might swing by the store and pick some up. Also…I still need to get to Crossroads Blueberry Farm and see if they have any fresh berries yet….I don’t think they’re quite ripe yet…but nothing beats fresh blueberries in the summer!

As I’ve heard it said….”Fruit is God’s Dessert”. Thank you God for the wonderful foods you have created! Can I get an Amen?! And for the divine inspiration of CHOCOLATE! (Random fact- did you know that the nut that chocolate is from is actually poisonous before it’s harvested?) Oh, and I’m thankful that George Washington Carver (credited for inventing PB) shared Peanut Butter with the world. Ok, now that I’ve made you hungry, what foods are  you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

