Oh Randomness! Dogs, Food, and GNC

10 Jun

Have you tried Quest bars?

I went to GNC today and they had new flavors. My favorite is the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. They only have 8 ingredients, and I could understand each one! ha. It has unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, water, almonds, whey protein, natural prebiotic fiber, milk protein, and stevia. AND it tastes like a naughty treat, but has 190 calories and 21g protein, 17g Fiber, 1g Sugar. yep…ONE gram of sugar. I’m sold! Here are some of the flavors I recommend:

2013-06-10 14.40.45

coconut cashew, peanut butter and jelly, chocolate chip, chocolate peanut butter, and banana nut. I also really like the chocolate fudge and strawberry pie. OK, with treats like this, it makes staying on track with my diet so much easier! I workout a lot harder knowing that these bad boys are the dangling carrot of my workouts!

Speaking of working out harder, I have started to take the GNC GENETIXHD supplements. Now, I can’t say supplements are for everyone, I can only give my personal testimony. I love this line. I have been using it for 2 months now. It helps me with my energy levels during workouts, aids in digestion, and has helped me kick my coffee habit. Here’s what I’ve used:

2013-06-10 14.41.10

 

Pre-Workout: Pro-Sculpt

Added benefits:

  • 200 mg Caffeine
  • B Vitamins
  • Amnio Acids to help with protein assimilation
  • Tri-pepper thermogenic blend (fat burner)

How Do I Feel When I Take It? I feel fine. I have no jitters whatsoever.. Ryan takes it in lieu of coffee in the mornings too. When I drank coffee, I felt like it completely drained me. I was jittery and had terrible tummy issues (IBS). Now that I’ve made the switch, I feel a lot better. I know some people may shy away from fat burners, but I feel that this is a very high quality product designed for athletes…It won’t work if you just take it and NOT workout. It’s not like hydroxycut or other crazy scary products out there.

2013-05-10 05.20.23

 

They come in two flavors – Blue Raspberry and Fruit Punch. I like both, Ryan only likes Fruit Punch.

So that’s BEFORE a workout. I usually eat a light snack too. Today it was greek yogurt and almonds.

2013-06-10 10.12.51

 

Then AFTER a workout I drink a protein shake from the GENETIXHD Line.

2013-06-10 14.41.01

 

My Favorite Smoothie:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Shake

1 scoop ISO-DEFINE chocolate flavor

2tbs PB2 (oh yum! Sometimes I just eat it plain…)

1 cup(ish) ice

1 pack stevia

Fill with water, blend, and enjoy! Super easy!

Notice how Gracie is in almost ALL my pictures…She’s a camera hog!

2013-06-10 14.45.18

 

Such a lady!

One more product I love from GNC are their Probiotics. I have Irritable Bowel Syndrome and have battled with the right diet for years. I have tried almost all probiotics out there. a lot of them claim they survive even in stomach acid…but this is the only one that has really worked for me:

2013-06-10 14.41.58

 

 

Today’s Workout

My workout today was super intense. It didn’t take me along time, but it was one of those workouts where you just can’t stop sweating afterwards.

Warm up: 15 minutes

3 Rounds of Interval Sprints

Each minute alter your speed: 6.0 – 6.5 – 7.0 – 7.5 – 8.0  REPEAT 3X

Strength Training: 20 minutes

GNC Lean Legs pt. 2 From Jess at Blondeponytail.com 

It didn’t take long, but man oh man, was it effective.

I plan on doing “My Core Is Sore” before bed. 9min core workout.

How about you, what was your WOD?

What are you cooking up for dinner? I’m thinking stuffed peppers…all this working out has made me hungry! Apparently it’s made Gracie hungry too!

2013-06-09 10.22.06

 

 

2 Responses to “Oh Randomness! Dogs, Food, and GNC”

  1. Shirley Grater July 4, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    I was looking for something like this and I am so glad that I finally found it

    • Ashley July 5, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

      Glad it was helpful!

Leave a Reply

