Keep Calm and Get Your Workout On

2 Jun

keep calm and workout

  This post is WAY over due. It is the end of the school year, and for me, that means I’ve been super busy. But I have still been able to focus on my diet and fitness. Sometimes I feel pretty selfish spending so much time working out and planning my food, but then I realized…whether I’m making positive choices, or stagnant ones, I still have to eat, and I still have to move my body. If I focus on my health, eating and working out becomes a habit, and takes less mental energy.

Also, I love working out…I really mean it… I LOVE it. I also LOVE food. Which is why I won’t just put anything in my body. You only get so many calories to spend a day, and I spend mine wisely! I had a friend once tell me that eating is the most intimate thing humans do. It’s true if you think about it. What you put into your body reaches every cell of your body. I have also been trying to be aware to be thankful to God for my food. I think of the process of plant growth (being spring and all) and how amazing life is. If you really think about your food, and give thanks for it-Eating can be a spiritual experience. It reminds me of the verse:

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10: 31

I hope you all enjoy this post. It’s going to be a LONG ONE! Go ahead, leave a comment too, let me know your opinion. I am thinking about making my blog into a domain (ex: ohsheshines.com vs. ohsheshines.wordpress.com). So, feed back would help a ton! 🙂

Progress (NOT perfection)

2013-05-27 19.08.09 2013-05-27 19.07.34 2013-06-01 15.59.57

Baby Muscles are Growing!

I think it’s important to note that I do NOT weigh myself. I know some people need to monitor progress by numbers. But I am not the analytical type. I know my body and I know how I feel. I measure my success by asking myself the following questions:

  • How do my clothes fit? (I have a pair of “skinny jeans” that serve as a litmus test…and guess what, they are not the unrealistic sizes. For my body structure, I know that even if I was a bag of bones…which is NEVER my goal…I would never drop below a certain size. Therefore, I DON’T make goals based on dress sizes OR numbers on a scale)
  • What is my energy level like?
  • Am I able to lift more weight? Do more Rep? Run more Sprints?
  • Am I able to keep up with daily activities ( mowing the lawn, cleaning the house, grocery shopping, walking the dogs)

My personal definition of fitness is NOT based on the “Hollywood” standard of beauty. It’s a focus on my own physical, mental, and emotional well being. YOU NEED TO BE THE BEST ADVOCATE FOR YOURSELF. People can give you advice and share ideas with you, but after all, only YOU know what’s best for yourself. 🙂

Good Eats

So, my new found passion is for cooking! If you know me, you know this is a BIG deal. I am a reluctant cook. But buying fresh ingredients and making nutritious meals for Ryan has been the highlight of my days lately.

Although I haven’t posted for awhile, I’ve been taking lots of pictures and keeping track of my recipes. So i have divided them up into categories instead of days.

Breakfast:

Chocolate Banana Protein Shake

1 cup Ice

I scoop chocolate designerwhey protein powder

2 tbs powdered peanut butter (1g fat, 45 cal! whoo hoo!)

2 individual sized packs of Stevia

Blend, and pretend it’s ice cream! Yum!

2013-06-01 20.47.04 2013-06-01 20.47.30 2013-06-01 20.48.51

Ok, So I have been using “Just Great Stuff” for my powdered peanut butter. It’s a whooping $8/ 6 oz jar…YIKES. I use it everyday, so I go through it pretty fast. HOWEVER, I just discovered PB2… and Natural powdered peanut butter at my local grocery store for $4/6 oz jar. Still pricey, but that’s half the price! I’ll definitely be making the switch.

Breakfast on the go: 

2 hard boiled eggs

1 banana

Simple Breakfast Burrito:

Egg beaters egg whites (I really DON’T measure. I have a small pan and I fill the bottom. I use my hands a lot when I cook…not measuring tools. Again, I don’t like math. lol. Don’t tell my students I said that! )

I handful of spinach

1/2 handful of Fat Free Shredded Cheese

1 tbs sweet onion salsa

1 whole wheat tortilla

Lunch

I usually eat lunch on the go at school, so it consists of:

  • 1 Lg Red Grapefruit (I eat at least one a day)
  • 2 hard boiled eggs
  • 1 pack 100 cal almonds

When I’m at home, I’ll make a light salad… Like this one (which is husband approved!)

2013-05-25 14.46.48 2013-05-25 14.47.03 2013-05-25 14.46.54

Somehow I seemed to have forgotten to take a final photo, but here are the ingredients (serves 2 people):

  • 1 diced up fuji apple
  • 1 diced up stalk of celery
  • 1 cup(ish) cut up red grapes
  • 1 can (or 2 fresh chicken breasts) chicken
  • 1 BIG handful of almonds (walnuts are really yummy too)
  • 1 tbs Reduced Fat Vegenaise (healthy mayo…45 cal, 3g fat…I find it at my local health hut. It’s also Vegan, hence the name)

Dinner

I’ve made some really fun, new, out-of-the-box meals the past week…

For example: Portobella Pizza

2013-05-23 20.48.24

It doesn’t look that appetizing here…but it was amazing…and Husband approved!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Portobella mushrooms
  • 2 fresh tomatoes, diced
  • 1 lb organic ground chicken
  • 1+ cup spinach
  • 1 diced green pepper
  • 1 handful shredded low fat parmesan cheese
  • 1 handful diced onions
  • cilantro
  • M salt
  • Slap-Ya-Mama 
  • olive oil (for cooking use)

2013-05-23 20.44.03 2013-05-23 20.43.59 2013-05-23 20.43.50 2013-05-23 20.26.52

Dinner for Two…when fish is not on option for the hubs…

Sometimes cooking healthy can mean cooking two seperate meals when Ryan and I can’t agree.

Ryan hates fish. But I’m trying to incorporate it at least twice a week. I buy it fresh at my local deli. It tastes so much better than the frozen cuts. But Ryan was craving Nachos…So I took up the challenge to make him a healthy Nacho…the result…Husband approved! He said it was, “the BEST nacho he’s ever had”. So I’d say it was a success!

2013-06-01 19.22.37

Ryan’s Nacho:

  • Charley’s Famous Chips- made in Michigan…you might notice that I buy a lot of local foods.
  • Shredded Reduced Fat Colby Jack Cheese
  • Fresh jalapeños- diced
  • Fresh Cherry tomatoes- sliced
  • shredded lettuce
  • 80% Fat Free ground beef
  • Garden Fresh Salsa (made in…yep, Michigan) Sweet Onion Flavor
  • Low Fat Sour Cream

Ashley’s Fish

  • 1 fresh tilapia
  • M-Salt
  • Green Beans
  • Bolthouse Farms Yogurt Ranch dressing (45 cal)

Whew…So I’ve been basically eating lean meat and veggies for dinner. (It never takes me longer than 20 min to make! So easy, health, and cheaper than eating out, or eating processed foods).

2013-05-21 20.27.26 2013-05-21 20.23.03 2013-05-31 20.16.14

Oh! you may notice a lot of broccoli. This is how I get broccoli to taste like french fries:

  • Preheat oven to 475 degrees.
  • Drizzle a light serving of olive oil.
  • Add a dash of sea salt
  • bake for 20 min

Seriously so simple, and yet, so delicious. I even dip it in ketchup (High fructose corn syrup free of course!)

Ok…So I was going to also post some of the awesome workouts I’ve been doing lately, but that will have to wait until another post, because Ryan is getting impatient and wants me to wrap this up! 🙂

2013-06-01 20.14.43

 

Your turn:

  • Should I put more energy into this blog and give it a domain? Or leave it as it is?
  • What summer foods are you looking forward to? For me it’s Blueberries! Can’t wait to go to Crossroads Blueberry Farm

One Response to “Keep Calm and Get Your Workout On”

  1. Kristin June 2, 2013 at 3:37 am #

    Great post! I love to see how you are making all this yummy food- isn’t cooking the best?! Love the idea of getting your .com!!

Leave a Reply

