10 Fitness Commandments

23 May

I wanted to share the “The 10 Suggestions” with you. It really resonated with me.

The 10 Suggestions

1.I am only food, and thou shall not

give me more time and attention than

your faith.

2.Thou shall not count calories when

thou could be counting your blessings.

3.Thou should not spend money on

diet programs that could be spent to

feed the hungry.

4.Remember to honor thy body with

good food, exercise, and rest.

5.Thou shall not judge another’s virtue

by their size.

6.Thou shall not believe that girth is a

measure of worth.

7.Thou shall not envy thy neighbor’s

body.

8.Thou shall not binge, or purge, or

feel guilt over the blessings of good food.

9.Thou shall not believe the false

promises of diet books, fads, and pills.

10.Thou shall not honor your mirror

more than your soul.

-Katherine Derengow

This really gets me thinking. I LOVE working out. I mean, it’s “me” time, and a time where I push myself and see what I am capable of. I look forward to my workouts each day, especially in the summer when my workouts head outdoors. But I need to be balanced too. There are things that are WAY more important that working out: 1. God and my Faith. 2. My husband (but working out tends to be out bonding time…) 3. My family and friends.

Ways I keep balanced with working out:

  • Take my dogs on a 3-4mile run (family bonding time).
  • Workout with my Husband- Usually CrossFit style workout where we encourage each other and push ourselves.
  • Run outside and turn my run into prayer/ worship time, thanking God for His beautiful creation.
  • Listen to Christian Music and turn my run into a prayer/ meditation run.

I think it’s important to mention that I don’t do this with all my workouts. Working out and eating healthy definitely beings me closer to God, because I am so thankful for the blessing of good health, and for the time and opportunity to invest in myself. Some workouts are just…workouts. I focus solely on form, or tune out of the world and into Mumford and Sons, or Carrie Underwood, or whatever I happen to have on my playlist at the moment. I’m human, and sometimes I do get obsessed. But I am working on moderation and balance. I know I will never be perfect, and to be honest, I love my imperfections, because I know they can be used for God’s glory…no one wants to learn from someone that does everything perfect…It’s just not realistic. I’m real. I have scars, I fall down, I drink Monsters when I can’t keep my eyes open and still have a TON of work to do. BUT I try everyday to be my best. For God, for myself, and for my husband (Yes, in that order).

That being said, here’s my updated progress for today…Remember it’s all about PROGRESS, NOT PERFECTION! Love yourself! And be the best version of yourself….for YOURSELF! 🙂

Workout:Run and Done:

So, a while a go I asked my husband…”How do I become a faster runner?”

His answer, ” Run faster.”

Sure, it’s not rocket science, but sometimes I truly do think we put too much stress certain programs or routines, and forget to follow simple logic!

So, Thanks to Jess From blondeponytail.com, I was able to adapt her workout here

Her workout said to do 7.0 for 3 min, and 9.0 for 30 sec, and repeat until you reach 4 miles. I only did 2 miles. Speed work is new to me, so I am using modifications until I can keep up that intensity for 4 miles. I could run 4miles at 9 min miles (about 6.5) no problem, but bringing my heart rate up and down quickly takes a lot more out of me (and burns MORE FAT!)

2013-05-22 20.01.43

I also did a tabata strength workout out BEFORE my run. I like to do weight related workouts first, then my muscles are less fatigued and I can knock out more reps. A tabata is 20 sec of work, 10 sec of rest, for 8 reps…usually takes 4 min per move

Tabata = ( 20:10 x 8)

So you are doing 4 min of squats, then 4 min of plank, and so on until you cycle through. Again, I took my workout from Blondeponytail.com. Out of respect for Jess, I’m not going to repeat her workout on here, but you can link back to her page and look at it. I’ll just say that the reverse plank – leg lifts were surprisingly the hardest exercise in the whole set! CLICK HERE for my workout of the day from Jess!

My Results so far: I have gone from a size 8 to a size 6 in 1 month of doing Jess’ HIIT strength and running workouts. Everyday I do something new, and I’m really having fun doing it… and I look forward to it! (I’m slightly obsessed with working out at this stage of my life, but it’s a good stress reliever…hey…it’s not that bad of a vice!) I enjoy scanning through her blog and picking out what I am going to do next! She has SOOO many FREE workouts that it makes it really fun to choose everyday…they’re is always something new and challenging!

2013-05-22 20.04.04 2013-05-22 20.04.50

Post Workout…Don’t worry, I made sure no one else was in the locker room when I snapped this pic!

I am feeling really lean lately, and strong. I went to Chow Hound today to pick up dog food, and I effortlessly tossed a 40 pound bag of dog food on my shoulder. It’s also helping me be a better help-mate to my husband too, because I am able to do things on my own in the yard and around the house that before I wasn’t strong enough to do.

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ec3.pinimg.com/originals/cd/ac/d0/cdacd0a5569b5fcca85efe8e21b793e9.jpg

4 Responses to “10 Fitness Commandments”

  1. takingbackearth May 23, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    These are definitely really interesting, haven’t seen a take on fitness like I’ve seen here before. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Glad you’re feeling strong lately! Keep rocking!

    • mrsmartinus May 23, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope to encourage true beauty for the inside first 🙂

  2. Jess Allen (@blondeponytail) May 23, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Reverse planks are super deceptive, right?! Nice workouts and I love the 10 suggestions…especially no. 5!

  3. mrsmartinus May 23, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Thanks Jess! I hope I’m doing them right! I usually have to watch you demo them a few times first! You put together the BEST workouts!

Leave a Reply

