Motivational Monday

14 May

My Training: I have high hopes of becoming a personal trainer, but I need to start with myself…Lately, I’ve been super motivated. Blogging keeps me honest, and results keep me going.

My Goals:

1. Teach women that true beauty is strength. I pick up a 30 pound bag of dog food and whip it over my shoulder, along with carrying 4 other bags of groceries. (I hate bringing the cart to my car…I avoid it at all costs). This is what makes me feel beautiful…to not NEED a man to help me…or a cart.

2.  To be ready in any circumstance for whatever life may throw at me (definition of crossfit).

3. To not be self conscious on the beach this summer!

4. To feel confident in my own skin and glorify God with the gifts He’s given me.

My Dreams:

1.This summer, when I am on break from teaching- I am going to get my certification to be a personal trainer.

2. Get certified to teach crossfit

3. motivate, inspire, and encourage others

4. Use fitness to start community outreach

My Motto: PROGRESS, NOT PERFECTION

Daily Update

2013-05-13 20.02.522013-05-13 19.33.48

 

 

CARDIO:

20 Minute Treadmill Boredom Buster

1min 5.5

1min 6.0

1 min 6.5

1 min 7.0

1 min 7.5

1 min 8.0

Repeat Until you reach 2 miles (I ran the last min at 9.0 to push myself)

STRENGTH

Tabata Kettle Bell Workout

by Jess at blondeponytail.com

For this workout, I pushed myself again and used heavier weights. I used 35 lb for my squats and 25lb for my snatch. Look at Jess’ website for the workout. Since I didn’t create it, I feel like I can’t copy it on here. But look at her site, you’ll be glad you did!

*Once I am a certified trainer, I will be creating and demoing unique crossfit inspired workouts, but until then…I’ll direct you to the experts that I love and follow.

Total Workout Time: 45 minutes

My Daily Diet

Breakfast: 5:00am

Strawberry Banana Rama Smoothie

1 cup frozen strawberries

1 cup ice

 1 scoop GNC Whey Protein Powder– Banana Flavor

2 tbs powderd peanut butter

2 packs Stevia

Fill with water, blend.

I also drink my GNC Pro-Sculpt (I no longer drink coffee, and I can’t tell you how much better I feel!)

I always have a Tervis tumbler with me with fresh lemon water. Again, I try to drink half my body weight in ounces (70 oz)

2013-05-13 06.19.22

Snack Attack:

1 100 cal pack almonds

1 whole Grapefruit

2013-05-13 06.07.54

Lunch: 11:45

Banana Nut Quest Protein Bar

2 hard boiled eggs

1 HUGE handful of baby carrots

Snack Attack: 4:00pm

1 Quest Bar- Brownie Flavor! YUUUUMMMM! Tastes like dessert!

Pre-Workout: 6:00pm

GNC Pro-Sculpt

1/2 a piece of chicken left over from last night’s dinner

1 whole grapefruit

1 cup of fresh strawberries

Dinner- Post Workout: 8:00pm

2013-05-13 06.08.48 2013-05-13 21.00.17 2013-05-13 21.00.29

If you can see, I made Ryan sweet potato fries as a side for his, but I had baby carrots in lieu of fries.

1 oven baked chicken breast : seasoned with garlic and cilantro at 350 degrees for 30 min. Topped with a 2 tbs of hummus!

baby carrots

steamed carrots, squash, and cucumbers.

Thank you all for keeping me honest on my diet. A lot of times I want to cheat (I KNOW I’m not the only one who is tempted by convenience food!) but then I know I’ll have to explain it all to you when I record my food…and then I think… well…why do I want to eat more anyways? It’s usually due to stress, or to reward myself.

Blogging has helped me to see that I need to turn to God when I’m stressed, and NOT to food. Or call up my hubs and chat about it, or my best friend Kristin. There are healthier ways to deal with stress…( tear it up on the treadmill and sprint! Or pick up heavier weights!)

I have been working on time management lately too. Working out and eating right has become routine by now that it doesn’t take much time. And I look forward to my workouts everyday (and food. I LOVE food). But I do notice that I spend a great deal of mental energy thinking about it. I day dream on my way to work about becoming a trainer, and about opening my own Christian based gym someday. I try to think up tabata workouts, I run through past workouts, and think of how I can do baby steps to crossfit…

With all this mental energy going into training and food planning, I’m wondering if I’m making it an idol. I definitely need balance. And then I wonder if my passion is a gift that God can use to inspire others…God knows that if I can make this work, ANYONE CAN!

So again, I’m brought to the question: What is my motivation?

The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart. 1 Samuel 16:7

And I think of Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

It’s all about my heart attitude. Am I humble? (If I say yes, then you know I’m lying!) Do I encourage others? Am I still giving my friends and family the time and attention they need? What about work? When my hobbies dominate my life, then it becomes a stumbling block, and a vice…not a virtue.

What about you? What do you turn to when you’re stressed?

Would you want to work out at a Christian based gym? (Where heavy metal is NOT played, and everyone racks their weights when they’re done?! Hey, a girl can dream can’t she!)

 

 

 

One Response to “Motivational Monday”

  1. kirby May 14, 2013 at 2:47 am #

    “Where heavy metal is NOT played, and everyone racks their weights when they’re done?!” hilarious! 🙂 well done again!

Leave a Reply

