Sunday, Funday!

13 May

Today was Sunday, so Ryan and I were able to workout together. I always enjoy workouts more with a good workout buddy, and who better than the hubs! Ryan challenges me, I also have a competitive streak, and tend to still show off…even though we’ve been together for over 7 years. 🙂

Ryan also surprised me with NEW RUNNING SHOES! He totally knows the way to my heart ❤

2013-05-12 18.10.10

Our WOD:

4 mile run with the dogs (avg 8min miles)

We live by the lake, so we have a lot of hills and dunes by our house. Our favorite run goes by the beach, up the hills, and through the woods ( I LOVE Michigan!)

Tabata Workout

GNC lean legs by Jess at Blondeponytail.com

I use my crossfit tabata timer app on my iPhone. it was free and I use it almost everyday.

The tabata workout was actually HARDER than my hilly and speedy run. We were both sweating  like crazy after the tabata workout. The squat jumps were the hardest to tabata…20sec on seemed easy, but then resting 1o sec and starting again was tricky for me. I was reminded of my college physics class when I learned about the law of inertia, “An object in motion wants to stay in motion, and an object at rest wants to stay at rest”, it’s the start and stopping that is so difficult, and it just so happens to be what burns the most calories too.

Sticking to my Diet:

Breakfast: 7am

Pb Banana Rama Protein Smoothie

1 Scoop GNC AMP whey protein- Banana flavor

1 Cup Frozen Strawberries

2 tbs Organic Powdered Peanut Butter

2 packs Stevia

Fill with water and blend

Result: A party in my mouth! Oh yum! SO tasty that it almost tricks you…because it does NOT taste as healthy as it is (just my style).

2013-05-12 06.38.12 2013-05-12 06.37.48 2013-05-12 06.38.40

I also drank my GNC pro-sculpt in lieu of Coffee

Lunch: 12:00pm

One of my Favorites: Open Faced Omelet

1 piece of toasted Ezekiel Bread

2 servings of egg whites (egg beaters)

1 piece of skim milk cheese

1 handful of spinach

This literally only takes me 3 minutes to make.

I had baby carrots with it, as well as 1 whole grapefruit

2013-05-09 20.28.34

Snack: 3:00

Quest Bar

Dinner: 7:00

Grilled Chicken and Guacamole

Steamed Broccoli

Baby Carrots

2013-05-12 18.56.36

Dessert: 8:30

I was still really hungry from my workout, so I grabbed a brownie flavored Quest Bar and a grapefruit.

What about you? Do you have a workout buddy, or something that motivates you to workout?

Leave a Reply

