Finding Time

11 May

This week has been super busy. At school we had Grandparents’ Day and our Spring Musical. The temptation to blow off my diet and workout plan was high this week…BUT, I was still able to eek out some me time in my busy day.

There was a 2 hour break in my day from 4-6 before the evening plays started. I live an hour away from the school where I work, so going home, really wasn’t an option. So, I turned to….Jess at Blondeponytail.com for an anywhere workout. (I think I link to her page on EVERY post. But for good reason! She’s awesome!) The workout took me about 15 minutes. Wham Bam, thank you ma’am! But…(heavy sigh) there is not a moment of peace at school…two of my students walked into the classroom in midst of my brurpee round and shouted, ” Mrs. Martinus! What in the world are you doing?”. This was not a time to explain HIIT workouts! I totally felt like Ms. Lippy from Billy Maddison.

mrslippy

Eating away from home: 

I really dislike going out to eat. Maybe it’s a control thing, but when I’m working so hard on my fitness, eating is a big portion (get the pun!) of your success. So…I made it work. I should mention that yesterday was one of those days where I left the house at 6 am and got home at 11 pm. But I love my job, and the kids make it totally worth it!

Morning: 5:00am 

Purple Power Smoothie:

1 cup of ice

1 cup frozen blueberries

1 scoop chocolate whey protein ( ask me WHEY I only use whey…chuckle chuckle…I find that soy upsets my IBS. I also notice better results with whey then soy)

2 tbs powdered peanut butter (have you tried this yet? I actually tried it dry the other day…oh yum. I love you peanut butter).

2 packs of Stevia

Fill with water, and blend away! No thickener needed this time. The berries handled the consistency.

GNC Pro-Sculpt 

I take GNC’s Pro-Sculpt. I LOVE it! I use to drink a pot of coffee a day and drink…MONSTERS (gasp!) Pro-Sculpt has helped me to kick BOTH of those habits…if you would have told me a few months ago that I wouldn’t drink coffee any more… I would have said you are NUTS! But Pro-scuplt gives me clean energy without jitters, it helps my digestion, and it gives me more stamina throughout my workouts…and I consider teaching a workout…so I take it first thing in the morning before school, and in the afternoon before my workout.

2013-05-10 05.17.10 2013-05-10 05.16.28

2013-05-10 05.20.23

Snack Attack! 11:00 am

2 hard boiled eggs

Lunch  11:45am

3 Pickle Wraps (pickles, light cream cheese, deli turkey)

1 whole mini bag of organic baby carrots

No time for din din 😦 snacking   4:00pm

1 Quest Bar (20g protein, NO sugar, 170 cals)

2013-05-09 20.29.16

1 MORE Quest Bar at 7pm after our play

Dinner  10:30 pm – not recommended, but can’t be avoided

1 Omelett on 1 piece of Ezekiel Bread, with kale leaves and skim cheese

1 more pack 100 cal almonds.

2013-05-09 20.28.34

So, I would have preferred to eat more fresh foods…I seriously missed my Grapefruit ( I eat 2 whole grapefruits a day), but I wasn’t able to get to the store 😦

But all in all, I was pretty happy that I could stay on track and avoid my “Connivence Food Crash” that usually occurs on a busy day.

What about you? What do you eat when you’re in a pinch? 

One Response to “Finding Time”

  1. Jess Allen (@blondeponytail) May 13, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    Thanks for sharing girl!! 😀

Leave a Reply

